Central Government Health Scheme

Central Government Health Scheme is the plan that was launched by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. It was created in 1954. The main objective of Central Government Health Scheme is the provision of medical care facilities for government employees. The main people entitled for this scheme include pensioners and their dependents.

Central Government Health Scheme is applicable for government employees residing in cities, the ones covered under this scheme.

Central Government Health Scheme

Originally, CGHS was launched in Delhi in the year 1954. So, Delhi was the first city to experience these services. After Delhi, 17 cities were included in the jurisdiction of CGHS. Here is the list of 17 cities, in which CGHS is applicable:

  • Allahabad
  • Bangalore
  • Ahmedabad
  • Kolkata
  • Mumbai
  • Jabalpur
  • Jaipur
  • Hyderabad
  • Lucknow
  • Chennai
  • Nagpur
  • West Bengal
  • Pune
  • Patna
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • Kanpur
  • Guwahati

Although, it is applicable for government officials. But only in cities as mentioned above.

Only following categories of government employees can be used the services of the Central Government Health Scheme:

  • CGHS is applicable for all government officials from civil estimates, but government servants under Railways services and Delhi administration are not included in this scheme, except Delhi Police Force.
  • It is applicable for pensioners who are using pensions from Civil Estimates. CGHS can be used by their families too. In case, pensioners do not live in CGHS areas. They can get a CGHS card from CGHS center nearby.
  • Current and ex members of Parliament are eligible for this service.
  • Judges of Supreme court can use CGHS
  • Judges of High court are eligible for CGHS services
  • It is applicable for Freedom Fighters too
  • Pensioners of Central Government, Semi Autonomous bodies, Semi government organizations
  • Accredited journalists can use these services too
  • Ex Governors and Ex Vice Presidents are eligible for CGHS

CGHS provide medical services via Wellness Centers. Previously, these centers were known as CGHS Dispensaries. In these Wellness Centers, following medical system are being used:

  • Allopathic
  • Ayurveda
  • Yoga
  • Unani
  • Sidha
  • Homeopathic

Here, are the exact number of Wellness Centers as per the medical system:

  • 254 allopathic dispensaries
  • 19 polyclinics
  • 78 Ayush dispensaries
  • 3 Yoga Centers
  • 17 Dental Centers
  • 65 Laboratories

Following are the main objectives of this scheme:

  • All types of dispensary services
  • Domiciliary care
  • W & M.C.H Services
  • Specialist consultation at every Wellness Centre
  • X-Ray, ECG and Laboratory examinations
  • Efficient hospitalization
  • Features like purchase, storage, organization and supply of medicines
  • Health Education for the beneficiaries

If we talk about the scheme, the dispensary part is the backbone. Without a large network of dispensaries, it would be impossible to make this scheme successful. CGHS is highly governed body. Tiem to time instructions get issued for specialists and medical officers working under this scheme. The rapid expansion is the real proof of its success! We can say, CGHS is one of the most efficient department in the Indian Government!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *