Election 2019

295 crorepatis in queue in Odisha Assembly elections

Out of the 1,121 candidates across parties contesting for the 147 Odisha Assembly seats, 295 have assets worth over Rs 1 crore, an analysis revealed on Sunday.

Among the candidates in the fray for the fourth and final phase polls in the state, Congress’ Bobby Mohanty from Cuttack constituency has topped the crorepati list, declaring over Rs 106 crore assets, followed by Chief Minister and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik with assets worth over Rs 60 crore.

According to an analysis done by Odisha Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms, 97 candidates of the BJD, 75 of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), 73 of the Congress, five of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), four of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and 41 Independent candidates have declared assets worth more than Rs 1 crore.