Bureau of Civil Aviation Security

bureau of civil aviation security

The Bureau of Civil Aviation Security is a connected office of the Ministry of Civil Aviation of India. Its head office is on the first by third floors of the A-Wing of the Janpath Bhawan along Janpath Road in New Delhi. The agency has eight regional offices, situated at Indira Gandhi Airport in Delhi, Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport in Mumbai, Chennai International Airport in Chennai, Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport in Kolkata, Amritsar, Ahmedabad, Guwahati, and Hyderabad.

After the hijacking of an Indian Airlines flight in 10th September 1976, the Pande Committee recommended setting up an aviation security department. In January 1978 the BCAS was set up as a department of the Directorate General of Civil Aviation. As an outcome of the 1985 bombing of Air India Flight 182, on 1 April 1987, the BCAS became an independent agency of the Ministry of Civil Aviation.


  • Laying down Aviation Security Standards in accordance with Annex 17 to Chicago Convention of ICAO for airport operators, airlines operators, and their security agencies undertaken for implementing AVSEC measures.
  • Regulating the implementation of security rules and regulations and carrying out a survey of security needs.
  • Ensure that the member implementing security controls are appropriately trained and possess all competencies required to perform their duties.
  • Planning and coordination of Aviation security matters.
  • o   Surprise/Dummy visits to test professional efficiency and alertness of security staff.
  • o   Mock training to test the efficacy of Contingency Plans and operational preparedness of the various agencies.
Previous Directorate General of Civil Aviation
Next National Aids Control Organisation

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *