Commission of Railway Safety

commission of railway safety

The Commission of Railway Safety is a government agency of the country. Subordinate to the Ministry of Civil Aviation, the commission is the rail safeguarding authority in India, as directed by The Railways Act, 1989. The Commission of Railway Safety investigates rail accidents. Its main office is in the North-East Railway Compound in Lucknow. As of 2017, Shri Sudarshan Nayak is the Chief Commissioner of Railway Safety (CCRS).

Organizational Structure & Jurisdiction

The Commission is guided by a Chief Commissioner of Railway Safety (CCRS), at Lucknow, who also acts as Principal Technical Advisor to the Central Government in all matters pertaining to railway safety. Operating under the administrative control of CCRS are 9 Commissioners of Railway Safety (CRS), each one exercising jurisdiction over one or more of the 16 Zonal Railways. Additionally, Metro Railway (Kolkata), DMRC (Delhi), MRTS (Chennai) and Konkan Railway also fall under their jurisdiction. There are 5 Deputy Commissioners of Railway Safety posted in the Headquarters at Lucknow for helping the CCRS as and when required. Additionally, there are 2 field Deputy Commissioners, one each in Mumbai and Kolkata, to help the Commissioners of Railway Safety in matters concerning the Signalling and Telecommunication disciplines.


  • To inspect new railways with a view to determine whether they are okay to be opened for the public carriage of passengers, and to report thereon to the Central Government as needed by or under this Act
  • To make such timely or other inspections of any railway or of any rolling stock used thereon as the Central Government may direct
  • To make an inquiry under this Act into the reason of an accident on a Railway; to perform such other duties as are imposed on him by this Act or any other enactment for the time being in force relating to Railways.
  • sanctioning the commencing of new railway lines after inspection on behalf of the Central Government
  • sanctioning the execution of all works, including new works, affecting the safety of running lines
  • when, after inspecting a line already in use or a rolling stock already authorised, the Commissioner is of the opinion that their continued use will be attended with danger to the travelling public, he may report his opinion to the Central government, who may then order the closure of the line or the discontinuance of the use of rolling stock
  • To inspect such a closed line and sanction its reopening for carriage of passengers and also report to the Central Govt.on the fitness for use of discontinued rolling stock.
  • General Rules for all open lines of railways in India covering Metro Railways
  • Guidelines for the opening of a Railway or Section of a Railway for the public carriage of passengers
  • Indian Railways Code of practice for the Engineering department
  • Indian Railway Way, Bridge and Signal Engineering Manuals
  • Schedules of Dimensions
  • Conference Rules of the Indian Railway Conference Association
  • Statutory Investigation into Railway Accidents Rules, 1998
  • Railway (Notices of and Inquiries into accidents) Rules, 1998
Previous Indian Institute of Packaging (IIP)
Next Indian Institute of Foreign Trade (IIFT)

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *