Directorate General of Civil Aviation

Directorate General of Civil Aviation

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) is the Indian governmental regulatory body for civil aviation control by the Ministry of Civil Aviation. This Directorate General of Civil Aviation investigates aviation accidents and incidents. It is headquartered along Sri Aurobindo Marg, opposite Safdarjung Airport, in New Delhi. The Government of India is planning to enhance the organization with a Civil Aviation Authority (CAA), modeled on the lines of the American Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).


These are classified and divided into the following:

  • Administration Directorate.
  • Aerodrome Standards Directorate (AD)
  • Air Safety Directorate (DAS)
  • Air Transport Directorate (AT)
  • Airworthiness Directorate (DAW) Also for registering drones in India
  • Flight Standards Directorate (FSD)
  • Information & Regulation Directorate (DRI)
  • Aircraft Engineering Directorate (AED)
  • Directorate Of Flying Training (DFT)
  • Medical Section.
  • Directorate of Training & Licensing (DTL)
  • Directorate of Airspace and Air Navigation Services Standards (ANSS)

Regional offices

DGCA has fourteen Regional Airworthiness branches (RAO) at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Kochi, Bhopal, Lucknow, Patna, Bhubaneshwar, Kanpur, Guwahati, and Patiala. It has also five Regional Air Safety offices situated at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, and Hyderabad. It has a Regional Research and Development Office situated at Bangalore and a Gliding Centre at Pune.

Civil Aviation Authority

The CAA has been envisaged as an autonomous regulatory body which will take over the DGCA and will meet standards set by the UN’s International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO). The CAA will have different departments to deal with safety, economic regulation and grievance resolution, as well as a

full-fledged environment department. It will also have an independent accident investigation bureau. The Authority will also have the autonomy to recruit employee. Presently, the DGCA is understaffed and does not have any recruitment powers. The CAA will have administrative and financial powers same as those of the American FAA. These powers will redefine the regulator’s role and better equip it to face the problems of the growing Aviation sector in the country. Employees doing the job with DGCA will be transferred to the CAA.

The approx cost of setting up the new Authority would be around Rs 11.2 million. The CAA would be self-financing and have a different fund called the ‘Civil Aviation Authority of India Fund’ that would finance its total expenses. It would have a Chairperson, a Director General and 7-9 members appointed by the Central Government. These persons will be qualified in the fields of aviation safety, aircraft engineering, flight standard operations, aerodromes, air navigation systems, and airspace management.

Previous CSIR-UGC (NET)
Next Bureau of Civil Aviation Security

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *