Joint Intelligence Committee (JIC)


The National Security Council (NSC) (IAST: Rāṣṭrīya Surakṣā Pariṣada) of India is an executive government agency operated with advising the Prime Minister’s Office on matters of national security and strategic interest. It was set up by the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government on 19 November 1998, with Brajesh Mishra as the first National Security Advisor. Before the formation of the NSC, these activities were overseen by the Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister.


Besides the National Security Advisor (NSA), The Deputy National Security Advisor (DNSA), The Ministers of Defence, External Affairs, Home, Finance of the Government of India, and the Deputy Chairman of the NITI Aayog are representatives of the National Security Council. Other members may be invited to attend its monthly meetings, as and when needed.

Organizational structure

The NSC is the major body of the three-tiered structure of the national security management system in India. The different two tiers are the Strategic Policy Group, and the National Security Advisory Board.

National Security Advisory Board

The brainchild of the pioneer National Security Advisor(NSA), Brajesh Mishra, the National Security Advisory Board(NSAB) combined of a group of eminent national security experts outside of the government. Members are usually senior retired officials, civilian as well as military, academics and distinguished members of civil society drawn from and having expertise in Internal and External Security, Foreign Affairs, Defence, Science & Technology and Economic Affairs.

The first NSAB constituted in December 1998, led by the late K. Subrahmanyam produced a draft Nuclear Doctrine for the country in 2001, a Strategic Defence Review in 2002 and a National Security Review in 2007.

The board meets at least once a month, and more frequently as needed. It gives a long-term prognosis and analysis to the NSC and recommends solutions and address policy matters referred to it. Initially, the Board was constituted for one year, but since 2004-06, the Board has been reconstituted for two years.

The duration of the previous NSAB, headed by former Foreign Secretary Shyam Saran, ended in January 2015. It had 14 members.

The new board has been re-constituted in July 2018, with PS Raghavan, former Indian Ambassador to Russia(2014-16), as its head. It has a duration of two years.

Joint Intelligence Committee

The Joint Intelligence Committee (JIC) of the Government of India study intelligence data from the Intelligence Bureau, Research and Analysis Wing and the Directorates of Military, Naval and Air Intelligence. The JIC has its own Secretariat that operates under the Cabinet Secretariat.

Previous National Commission for Scheduled Tribes (NCST)
Next National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC)

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *