K Chandrashekhar Rao

K Chandrashekhar Rao

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao was born on 17 February 1954, is an Indian politician who is 1st Chief Minister of Telangana after the Telangana state got divided from Andhra Pradesh. He is the head and president of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi, a regional party in India. He is a person of the Legislative Assembly (Telangana) from the Gajwel constituency of Siddipet District in Telangana. Previously, he served as the Representative of the Legislative Assembly (Andhra Pradesh) from Siddipet and also as the Representative of Parliament from Mahbubnagar, Karimnagar, and Medak. He took first as the first Chief Minister of the new state of Telangana on 2 June 2014.

Early life and family

Chandrashekhar was born on 17 February 1954 in Chintamadaka village, Siddipeta Mandal, siddipet District of Telangana State. He completed an MA degree in Literature from Osmania University, Hyderabad. Kalvakuntla Chandrashekhar Rao is married to Shobha and blessed with two children. His boy, K. T. Rama Rao, is a legislator from [Sircilla Rajanna District], previous Karimnagar district, Telangana and is the cabinet minister for IT, Municipal Administration & Urban Development Departments. His daughter, Kalvakuntla Kavitha, is an M.P. from Nizamabad, Telangana.

His nephew, Harish Rao, is MLA for the Siddipet constituency and is currently the cabinet minister for Irrigation, Legislative Affairs, and Marketing in the Telangana government. Chandrashekhar has 9 sisters and 1 elder brother in Velama Dora family. KCR has good control over languages like Telugu, English, Urdu, and Hindi. His resides with his family at the official chief minister residence, Pragathi Bhavan in Hyderabad City.

Political career

KCR initiated his career with the youth Congress party in Medak district under the leadership of Sanjay Gandhi. Though Congress was in a bad position he was with them. After that, he joined Telugu Desam Party led by NT.Rama Rao. KCR united the TDP in 1983 and contested against A.Madan Mohan and lost that election. He won four one by one Assembly elections from Siddipet between 1985 and 1999. From 1987–1988, he served as Minister of Drought & Relief in N. T. Rama Rao’s cabinet. In 1990, he was appointed as TDP convener for Medak, Nizamabad, and Adilabad districts. In 1996, he worked as Transport minister in Chandrababu Naidu’s cabinet. He also worked as the deputy speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly from 2000–2001. On 27 April 2001, Rao resigned as Deputy Speaker, TDP Party as well. Chandrashekhar was sworn in as the first chief minister of the Telangana state at 12.57 pm on 2 June 2014. Rao, a staunch believer in astrology, numerology, and Vaastu, is reported to have fixed this time for his inauguration as per the advice of priests to suit his lucky number ‘six’. Chandrashekhar was re-elected 8 times as TRS president.

His welfare programs are focused on reviving the rural economy and are focused on the development of each community. An intensive household study, Samagra Kutumba Survey (SKS) was done in a single day on 19 August 2014 across the state to arrive at citizen information for rolling out welfare programs. The studies collected pertaining to 94 parameters, covered one crore four lakh households in the State.

Previous Nitish Kumar
Next Lalu Prasad Yadav