Lalu Prasad Yadav

lalu prasad yadav

Lalu Prasad Yadav was born on  11 June 1948, is an Indian politician from the state of Bihar. He is the President of the Rashtriya Janata Dal, former Chief Minister of Bihar, former UPA Minister of Railways, and former Member of Parliament of the 15th Lok Sabha.

Early life and family

Lalu Prasad Yadav was born on 11 June 1948 in Phulwaria which is located in the Gopalganj district of the state of Bihar. He is the second son of a poor peasant family of Shri Kundan Rai and Smt. Marachhiya Devi. He finished his primary education in a school at Bihar Military Police number 5. Here he studied till the seventh standard. Thereafter, he with his elder brother resided to Patna. He accomplished his Bachelor’s degree in Law and Masters degree in Political Science from B.N. College under the University of Patna. He served as a clerk after his graduation in the Bihar Veterinary College in Patna

On 1 June 1973, Lalu Prasad Yadav married Rabri Devi. The couple was blessed with seven daughters: Misha, Rohini, Bharti, Chanda, Hema, Rajlakshmi and Dhannu and two sons are Tej Pratap and Tajashwi. When Lalu Prasad Yadav resigned as Chief Minister of Bihar in the year 1997 following corruption charges against him for his major role in 1996 Fodder Scam, Rabri Devi became the Chief Minister of Bihar and remained so until 2005, with brief interruptions.

Political career

Lalu Prasad Yadav’s initial step in Indian politics was as a student. He joined in the Patna University Union elections. This step was considered to have given him the Janata Party membership to contest and become a representative of the 6th Lok Sabha in 1977. He became one of the youngest members of the then Parliament at the age of 29 years. In 1977, he had victory on the Lok Sabha elections for the first time at the age of 29. He was chosen as a member of Parliament from Chhapra.

From 1980 to 1989, Lalu served two consecutive terms as a member of the Legislative Assembly of Bihar.

In 1989 Lalu was:

  • The leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly of Bihar
  • Convener of Public Undertakings Committee
  • Chairman of the Pustakalaya Committee
  • Elected for a second term in the 9th Lok Sabha

From 1990 to 1995 Lalu remained a member of Legislative Council of Bihar.

From 1990 to 1997 Lalu was the Chief Minister of Bihar.

From 1995 to 1998 Lalu was the member of the Legislative Assembly of Bihar.

In 1996 Lalu involvement in Fodder Scam was revealed.

In 1997 Lalu disassociated himself from the Janata Dal and formed a new party called Rashtriya Janata Dal.

In 1998 Lalu was elected for the third term as a member of the 12th Lok Sabha.

From 1998 to 1999 Lalu Prasad was a member of:

  • Committee of Home Affairs
  • Committee on General Purpose
  • Consultative Committee of Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

In 2004, he was elected as representative of the 14th Lok Sabha and became Cabinet Minister in the railway ministry. His party emerged as a key member of the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government.

In 2009 he was re-elected for the fifth term as a representative of the 15th Lok Sabha.

Following his conviction in the fodder scam case in 2013, He was barred from contesting elections for the next six years.

In the 2015 Bihar assembly elections, Lalu party made a major comeback with voters of Bihar giving a mandate to the alliance of Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD and Nitish Kumar’s JD(U).

Previous K Chandrashekhar Rao
Next J Jayalalitha