Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs

Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs

The Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs is the main authority of Government of India at the national level to formulate policies, sponsor and support programme, coordinate the activities of various Central Ministries, State Governments and other nodal authorities and monitor the programmes concerning all the matters of housing and urban affairs in the country.

The issues pertaining to urban development have been assigned by the Constitution of India to the State Governments. The Constitution (74th Amendment) Act has further delegated some of these functions to the urban local bodies. The constitutional and legal authority of the Govt. of India is limited only to Delhi and other Union Territories and to the matter which State Legislatures authorize the Union Parliament to legislate.

According to the Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules 1961, the following business has been allocated to the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs :

  1. Properties of the Union, whether lands or buildings, with the following exceptions, namely:-
  • Those ownership to the Ministry of Defence, the Ministry of Railways and the Department of Atomic Energy and the Department of Space;
  • Infrastructure or lands, the construction or acquisition of which has been financed otherwise than from the Civil Works Budget;
  • Infrastructure or lands, the control of which has at the time of construction or acquisition or subsequently been permanently made over to other Ministries and Departments.
  1. All Government civil works and buildings covering those of Union territories excluding roads and excluding works executed by or buildings belonging to the Ministry of Railways, Department of Posts, Department of Telecommunications, Department of Atomic Energy and the Department of Space.
  2. Horticulture operations.
  3. Central Public Works Organisation.
  4. Administration of Government estates including Government hostels under the control of the Ministry.
  5. Allotment of residence in Vigyan Bhawan.
  6. Administration of four Rehabilitation Markets viz. Sarojini Nagar Market, Shankar Market, Pleasure Garden Market, and Kamla Market.
  7. Matters of the lease or conveyance deeds in respect of Government-built properties in Delhi and New Delhi under the Displaced Persons (Compensation and Rehabilitation) Act, I 954 (44 of I 954) and conversion of lease deeds, allotment of additional strips of land and correctional areas adjoining such properties.
  8. Stationery and Printing for the Government of India covering official publications.
  9. Planning and coordination of urban transport systems with the technical planning of rail-based systems being a matter to the items of work allocated to the Ministry of Railways, Railway Board.
  10. Fixing of maximum and minimum rates and fares for rail-based urban transport systems except those funded by the Indian Railways.
  11. Tramways covering elevated high-speed trams within municipal limits or any other contiguous zone.
  12. Town and Country Planning; issues relating to the Planning and Development of Metropolitan Areas, International Cooperation and Technical Assistance in this field.
  13. A project of large scale acquisition, development, and disposal of land in Delhi.
  14. Delhi Development Authority.
  15. Master Plan of Delhi, coordination of job in respect of the Master Plan and Slum Clearance in the National Capital Territory of Delhi.
  16. Construction of memorials in honor of freedom fighters.
  17. Development of Government colonies.
  18. Local Government, that is to say, the constitution and powers of the Municipal Corporations (excluding the Municipal Corporation of Delhi), Municipalities (excluding the New Delhi Municipal Committee), other Local Self-Government Administrations excluding Panchayati Raj Institutions.
  19. The Delhi Water Supply and Sewage Disposal Undertaking of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi.
  20. Water supply (subject to the overall national perspective of water planning and coordination assigned to the Ministry of Water Resources, River Development, and Ganga Rejuvenation), sewage, drainage and sanitation relating to urban areas and linkages from allocated water resources.
  21. The Central Council of Local Self-Government.
  22. Allotment of Government land in Delhi.
  23. Administration of Rajghat Samadhi Committee.
  24. All issues relating to Planning and Development of the National Capital Region and administration of the National Capital Region Planning Board Act, 1985 (2 of 1985).
  25. Issues relating to the Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage (INTACH).
  26. All issues relating to the Housing and Urban Development Corporation (HUDCO).
  27. Issues relating to NBCC(India)Limited and its subsidiaries.
Previous Ministry of Home Affairs
Next Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *