National Security Guards (NSG)

National Security Guards (NSG)

The National Security Guard (NSG) is an Indian special forces unit in the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). It was launch in 1984, following Operation Blue Star and the assassination of Indira Gandhi, “for combating terrorist activities with a view to protecting states against internal disturbances”.

NSG is headed by the authority of the Ministry of Home Affairs. However, it is not categorized under the regular nomenclature of Central Armed Police Forces. It has a special force performs, and its, major operational capability is provided by the Special Action Group (SAG) which is drawn from the Indian Army. The Special Rangers Group (SRG), the police component of NSG, which also handles VIP security, is comprised of personnel on deputation from other Central Armed Police Forces and State Police Forces.

The NSG personnel is often concerned to in the media as Black Cats because of the black outfit and black cat insignia worn on their uniform.


The National Security Guard (NSG) was set up in 1984 as a Federal Contingency Deployment Force to handle all facets of terrorism in the country. As a specialized counterterrorism force, it is intended for use “only in exceptional situations” and not purposed to take over the “functions of the State Police Forces or other Para Military Forces”. Yet, over the years its role has massively expanded to give personal security to influential politicians quite independent of the real threat that they face.

The NSG is trained to organize counter-terrorist task to including counter hijacking tasks on land, sea, and air; Bomb disposal (search, detection, and neutralization of IEDs); PBI (Post Blast Investigation) and Hostage Rescue missions.

Selection and training

Selection is demanding and has a fall out rate of about 70–80 percent. Three of their 14 months of training in Manesar, Haryana, are devoted to the starting. The basic training period duration is for 90 days. Physical fitness training has 26 jobs, ranging from a cross-country obstacle course to jumping from heights and across divides and scaling different kinds of terrain. One endurance test involves martial arts, target shooting at the end of an obstacle-ridden cross-country run. This is meant to gauge the candidate’s performance under conditions of stress and exhaustion. Those who successfully complete the tests are sent for nine months of advanced training.

Rank structure and designation

The ranks in NSG are roughly on the pattern of the police and the CAPF, as follows:


(i) Director-General. (Lieutenant-General)

(ii) Additional Director-General. (Lieutenant-General)

(iii) Inspector-General. (Major-General)

(iv) Deputy Inspector-General. (Brigadier)

(v) Group Commander. (Colonel)

(vi) Squadron Commander. (Lieutenant-Colonel)

(vii) Team Commander. (Major/Capt)

Assistant Commanders (JCOs)

(viii) Assistant Commander Grade I. (Subedar Major)

(ix) Assistant Commander Grade II. (Subedar)

(x) Assistant Commander Grade III. (Naib Subedar)

Persons other than officers and Assistant Commanders-

(xi) Ranger Grade I.

(xii) Ranger Grade II.

(xiii) Combatised tradesmen.

Previous Defense Security Corps
Next Intelligence Bureau (IB)

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *