Naveen Patnaik


Naveen Patnaik was born on 16 October 1946, is an Indian politician who is the present and 14th Chief Minister of Odisha. The supreme of the Biju Janata Dal is also a writer and has published four books.

Early life and family

Naveen Patnaik was born on 16 October 1946 to the former chief minister of Odisha, Biju Patnaik and his wife Gyan Patnaik at Anand Bhawan in Cuttuck. Patnaik was educated at St. Joseph’s Convent in Cuttack, in fact not for long. He then moved out of Cuttuck and attended the Welhams Boys School and Doon School in Dehradun and Lawrence School, Sanawar. He got his B.A. degree from Kirori Mal College of Delhi University.

Political career

After the death of his father Biju Patnaik, head of the Janata Dal, he was elected as a member to the 11th Lok Sabha in the by-election from Aska Parliamentary Constituency in Odisha, India. Naveen was a member of the Consultative Committee of Ministry of Steel & Mines, Member of Standing Committee on Commerce, and Member Library Committee of Parliament. A year later the Janta Dal split and Patnaik founded the Biju Janta Dal which in alliance with the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) performed good and Patnaik was selected the Union Minister for Mines in the cabinet of A.B.Vajpayee.

In 2000 Assembly election, BJD won the majority of seats in association with the BJP in the Odisha Assembly elections, Patnaik vacates from the Union cabinet and was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Odisha. BJP guided NDA lost the general elections in 2004, however, the conflict led by Naveen Patnaik emerged victorious in the state legislative elections and he continued as the Chief Minister. During this term, the friction between the ruling partners was getting more and more apparent, especially after the killing of Swami Laxmanananda Saraswati in the Kandhamal district of Odisha in 2007–2008 and also the active participation of Bajrang Dal in the rampage that hit Kandhamal region. In the run-up to the polls for the Lok Sabha and Legislative Assembly of Odisha elections in 2009, BJD walked out of the NDA after severing ties with the BJP and joined the developed Third Front constituted mainly by the Left Front and few regional parties.

 He did it after severely condemned BJP’s involvement in Kandhamal anti-Christian riots during 2007. The BJD won a resounding victory in both the Vidhan Sabha (State Assembly) and also in the Lok Sabha elections in 2009, winning 14 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats and 103 of the 147 assembly seats and was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Odisha on 21 May 2009 for the third consecutive term. Patnaik won a great victory in both the 2014 Indian General Elections and the Legislative Assembly of Odisha elections in 2014. Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal secured 20 out of the 21 Lok Sabha seats of Odisha and 117 of the 147 Odisha Vidhan Sabha seats.

Naveen Patnaik was ranked as the Second best Chief Minister of India by NDTV Opinion Poll in 2010. Naveen Patnaik was hailed as the Most Popular Chief Minister of India by India Today-ORG-Marg Mood of the Nation Poll in 2010. Naveen Patnaik was honored by the United Nations (UN) for evacuating nearly a million people ahead of a tropical storm, Cyclone Phailin that destroyed coastal Odisha in October 2013.

Previous Nitin Gadkari
Next B.R. Ambedkar