Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar was born on 1 March 1951, is an Indian politician who is the Chief Minister of Bihar, a state in eastern India, since 2017. Previously he worked as the Chief Minister of Bihar from 2005 to 2014 and from 2015 to 2017; he also worked as a minister in the Union Government of India. He belongs to the Janata Dal (United) political party.

Early life and family

Nitish Kumar was born on 1 March 1951 in a place called Bakhtiyarpur, at a distance of 50 km from Patna, the capital city of Bihar. He comes from a Kurmi family. His father, Shri Ram Lakhan Singh, worked in ayurvedic medicine and was a well-known person in the area; his mother was Smt. Parmeshwari Devi. His ancestral house is in a village called Kalyanbigha, which is adjacent to Bakhtiyarpur. He did his schooling in Bakhtiyarpur from Ganesh High School, accomplished matriculation. He was quite bright and intelligent as a student. He studied at Patna Science College after matriculation. After that, he accomplished a degree course in electrical engineering from Bihar College of Engineering (now known as NIT Patna).

On 22 February 1973, he married Smt. Manju Sinha, who is by profession a teacher. His wife died in the year 2007 when she was 53 years old. They have a son Nishant, a graduate from BIT Mesra. Nitish Kumar is a teetotaler and a non-smoker. His favorite pastimes include reading books and watching films.

Political career

Nitish Kumar is a socialist political Member. His mentors come in top-rank politicians like Ram Manohar Lohia, Jayaprakash Narayan, Karpoori Thakur, George Fernandes, Vishwanath Pratap Singh, and SN Sinha.

In the initial stages, Nitish Kumar took part in the campaign led by Jayaprakash Narayan during 1974-1977. His electoral journey first became successful when he was elected as a legislator in 1985. He got a victory in the election as an independent.

Nitish Kumar was selected as the President of the Yuva Lok Dal, the youth wing of the Bharatiya Lok Dal. Subsequently, he was selected as the Secretary-General of the Janata Dal in the state. Nitish Kumar made his entry to the 9th Lok Sabha in 1989. The same year, Kumar won the seat of the Union Minister of State for Agriculture in the V P Singh Government. He again won the Parliamentary Polls in 1991. Nitish got the designation of the Deputy Leader of Janata Dal in the Upper House and General Secretary of the Janata Dal.

From 1989 to 2004, his Parliamentary Constituency was Barh, a subdivision of the Patna District.

In 1998, Nitish Kumar was the Union Cabinet Minister for Railways and Minister for Surface Transport and then the Minister for Agriculture in 1998-99. As Minister for Railways, he did a wonderful job and developed the infrastructure of railways phenomenally.

From 2001 to May 2004, Nitish Kumar worked as the Union Cabinet Minister for Railways in the National Democratic Alliance regime under Atal Bihari Vajpayee. In the Parliamentary Elections of 2004, he took part from Nalanda and Barh, two separate constituencies. Nitish won from Nalanda but could not win from his conventional stronghold Barh. Nitish was chosen as the floor leader of JD(U) in the Parliament.

Nitish Kumar worked as the Chief Minister of Bihar for two consecutive terms from 24 November 2005 till 17 May 2014.

Recognitions and Awards

Hindustan Times and CNN-IBN recognized Nitish as the Best Chief Minister in 2007.

In 2008 CNN-IBN honored Nitish as Great Indian of the Year in Politics.

Nitish received the Polio Eradication Championship Award from the Rotary International.

The Economic Times in 2009 recognized Nitish as the Business Reformer of the Year.

In 2009 NDTV mentioned Nitish as the Indian of the Year in Politics.

In 2010 CNN-IBN honored Nitish with the Indian of the Year Award in Politics.

In 2010, the Forbes declared Nitish India’s Person of the Year.

In 2010 NDTV mentioned Nitish as the Indian of the Year in Politics.

In 2010 Nitish was the MSN Indian of the Year.

In 2011 XLRI Jamshedpur bestowed Nitish with “Sir Jehangir Gandhi Medal”.

The Foreign Policy magazine ranked Nitish 77 among the top hundred global.

Previous Sharad Pawar
Next K Chandrashekhar Rao