Sharad Pawar

Sharad Pawar

Sharad Govindrao Pawar (born 12 December 1940) is an Indian politician who workes as the president of the Nationalist Congress Party which he founded in 1999, after separating from the Indian National Congress. He previously worked as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra on three separate occasions and held the posts of Minister of Defence and Minister of Agriculture in the Government of India. Sharad hails from the town of Baramati in the Pune district of Maharashtra. He is a member of the Rajya Sabha where he heads the NCP delegation. He has a position of prominence in national politics as well as the regional politics of Maharashtra.

Early life and family

Sharad Pawar was born on 12 December 1940 to Shri Govindrao Pawar and Smt. Shardabai Pawar. His father worked with Baramati Farmers’ Cooperative, also known as Sahakari Kharedi Vikri Sangh, and his mother used to take care of the family farm distance is about 10 km away from Baramati at Katewadi. Sharad Pawar has five brothers and four sisters. He was educated in a school under the Maharashtra Education Society. He completed his studies in Pune at the Brihan Maharashtra College of Commerce under the Pune University.

Pawar is married to Pratibha on 1 August 1967. They blessed with one daughter, Supriya Sule, who is married to Sadanand Sule. Supriya presently represents the Baramati constituency in the 15th Lok Sabha. Pawar’s nephew, Ajit Pawar, is also a politician and worked as the Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra. Pratap Pawar, Sharad Pawar’s younger brother is a businessman and runs the Marathi daily newspaper, Sakal.

Political career

In 1967 Sharad was the Member of Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra, Congress Legislature Party’s Secretary in Maharashtra, Pradesh Congress Committee’s General Secretary in Maharashtra

From 1972 to 1974 Sharad was the Minister of State of Government of Maharashtra for Food, Home, Civil Supplies, Publicity, Rehabilitation, Sports and Youth Welfare.

From 1974 to 1978 Sharad was the Cabinet Minister of Agriculture, Home, Education, Industries, Youth Welfare and Labour under the Government of Maharashtra.

From 1978 to 1980 Sharad was the Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

From 1981 to 1986 Sharad was the Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly of Maharashtra.

From 1982 to 1987 Sharad was the President of Congress (S).

In 1984 Sharad was elected to the 8th Lok Sabha but he resigned in March 1985.

From 1988 to 1991 Sharad was the Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

In 1991 Sharad was again elected to the 10th Lok Sabha.

From 1991 to 1993 he worked as the Defense Minister.

From 1993 to 1995 Sharad was a member of the Legislative Council of Maharashtra. He became the Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

From 1995 to 1996 Pawar was made the Leader of Opposition of the Legislative Council of Maharashtra.

In 1996 Sharad was re-elected for the third term in the 11th Lok Sabha.

From 1996 to 1997 Pawar held memberships in Committee on Environment and Forests and Committee on Science and Technology.

In 1998 Sharad was elected as a member of the 12th Lok Sabha for the fourth term. He was made the Leader of Opposition.

From 1998 to 1999 Pawar was a member of Committee on External Affairs and its Sub-Committee-II, General Purposes Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development’s Consultative Committee.

In 1999 Sharad was elected for the fifth time to the 13th Lok Sabha. He became the Leader of NCP in Parliament.

From 1999 to 2000 Sharad was the member of the General Purposes Committee and the Committee on Agriculture.

From 2000 to 2001 Sharad was the member of the Committee on Ethics.

From 2001 to 2004 Sharad was the Vice Chairman of the National Committee on Disaster Management. He was also the Leader of NCP in Parliament in the Lok Sabha.

In 2004 Sharad was elected for the sixth time to the 14th Lok Sabha.

From 23 May 2004, Sharad became the Union Cabinet Minister for Consumer Affairs, Public Distribution, Agriculture and Food. He was also the Vice President of the Parliamentary Forum on Water Conservation and Management.

In 2009 he was chosen for the seventh time as a member to the 15th Lok Sabha.

From 31 May 2009 to 18 January 2011 Sharad was the Union Cabinet Minister for Consumer Affairs, Public Distribution, Agriculture and Food.

From 19 January 2011 Pawar is the Union Cabinet Minister for Food Processing Industries and Agriculture.

Previous Sumitra Mahajan
Next Nitish Kumar