Sumitra Mahajan

Sumitra Mahajan

Sumitra Mahajan was born on 12 April 1943, is an Indian politician one of the Speaker of the 16th Lok Sabha. She is from Bharatiya Janata Party. In 2014, she got chosen to the Lok Sabha for the eighth time, one of three members of the 16th Lok Sabha to do so, and is presently the longest-serving woman member. She has presented the Indore constituency of Madhya Pradesh since 1989.

She worked for a time as a Union Minister. She was a minister from 2002 to 2004, having the portfolios for Human Resources, Communications, and Petroleum. She is the eldest and senior most among woman Members of Parliament in the 17th Lok Sabha. She is the second woman after Meira Kumar to be chosen as the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. An active parliamentarian, she not only lead important committees but has also been a keen debater and avid questioner in the house.

Early life and family

Sumitra Mahajan was born in a Chitpavan family to Usha and Purushotam Sathe in Chiplun, Maharashtra. She accomplished her MA and LLB from Indore University (now Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya) after marrying Jayant Mahajan of Indore. Sumitra Mahajan’s hobbies cover reading, music, drama, and cinema as well as an enthusiasm for singing. She has acknowledged the 18th-century social reformer Ahilyabai Holkar as the inspirational figure for her whole life.

Political career

She stands for the first time and won the Lok Sabha elections in 1989, against former Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Prakash Chandra Sethi. She has brought many schemes for Indore from Railways, Aviation, Urban Development Ministry. She is popular for simplicity, honesty and clean politics. She has a clean track record and has always had good distances from Special Interest Group. She is commonly known as Tai, among people of her constituency.

Positions held by Sumitra Mahajan

1984-85: Deputy Mayor, Municipal Corporation, Indore

1989: Elected to 9th Lok Sabha

1990-91: Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare President, Mahila Morcha, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Madhya Pradesh

1991: Re-elected to 10th Lok Sabha (2nd term)

1991-92: Member, Joint Committee for 73rd Constitution Amendment Bill

1991-93: Member, Joint Committee for Pre-Natal Diagnostic Techniques (Regulation and Prevention of Misuse) Bill, 1991

1991-96: Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Communications

1992-94 Vice-President, BJP, Madhya Pradesh

1995-96: Secretary, BJP, Parliamentary Board and Chairman, Parliamentary Board, Madhya Pradesh

1996: Re-elected to 11th Lok Sabha (3rd term)

1996-98: Secretary, BJP 1997: Member, Committee on Public Accounts

1998: Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (4th term)

1998 onwards: General-Secretary, BJP 1998-99:   Convenor, Sub-Committee on Drug Control, Committee on Human Resource Development Member, Committee on Human Resource Development and its Sub-Committee-I on Value-based Education Member, Joint Committee on the Empowerment of Women and its Sub-Committee on Appraisal of Laws relating to Women—Criminal Laws Member, Committee on Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADs) Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resource Development

1999: Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (5th term)

October 1999 – June 2002: Union Minister of State, Ministry of Human Resource Development

July 2002 – May 2003: Union Minister of State, Ministry of Communication & Information Technology

24 May 2003 – May 2004: Union Minister of State, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas

2004: Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha(6th term)

2004-2009: Member, General Purposes Committee Chairperson, Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment Member, Panel of Chairmen

2005: Prabhari, Mahila Morcha, BJP Member, Consultative Committee on Civil Aviation

5 August 2007 – May 2009: Chairperson, Standing Committee on Social Justice & Empowerment

2009: Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (7th term)

June 2009: Member, Panel of Chairmen

31 August 2009: Chairperson, Standing Committee on Rural Development

23 September 2009: Member, Committee on Empowerment of Women

2014: Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (8th term)

In February, Sumitra Mahajan was included in the LIMCA book of records for being the first Indian woman to represent the same Lok Sabha constituency on the same party ticket for eight times in a row.

Previous Mayawati
Next Sharad Pawar

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *