Uttam Kumar Reddy, Akbaruddin Owaisi, Kishan Reddy file papers

Telangana assembly polls

The Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee president N Uttam Kumar Reddy, AIMIM leader Akbaruddin Owaisi and BJP leader G Kishan Reddy were among the major candidates who filed their nominations on Saturday for the December 7 assembly elections in Telangana.

Reddy filed his nomination from his Huzurnagar assembly segment near Nalgonda. Hitting out at the ruling TRS for its alleged failures, he stated the “people’s front” (comprising Congress, TDP, CPI, and TJS) would come to power after the elections. The state cabinet would have representatives of the four parties, he said.

Owaisi entered the fray from Chandrayangutta assembly segment in Hyderabad which he represented before, according to MIM sources.

Kishan Reddy, floor leader of BJP in the majority dissolved Assembly, filed his nomination papers for Amberpet constituency in Hyderabad. He represented Amberpet earlier. Reddy was assisted by Union Minister Jitendra Singh, BJP MP Bandaru Dattatreya, and other party leaders.

TDP candidate from Kukatpalli Assembly constituency in Hyderabad, N Suhasini, a grand-daughter of party founder N T Rama Rao, also filed her nomination on Saturday.

Accompanied by her uncle and top Telugu hero N Balakrishna, a TDP MLA in neighboring Andhra Pradesh, she paid respects to her late father Harikrishna and also NTR earlier. Suhasini’s father N Harikrishna, a son of late NTR, passed away in a road accident currently.

Previous NALSAR to work with weavers for a new law to protect handloom sector
Next SpaceX gets the nod to put 12,000 satellites in orbit