What is India Post?

What is India Post

The department of the post also known as India post is a postal system, operated by the Indian government. India post is a part of Ministry of communication of the  Indian government. It’s a part of day to day life of Indian citizens in many ways: delivering mails, accepting deposits under Small Savings Schemes, providing life insurance cover under Postal Life Insurance (PLI) and Rural Postal Life Insurance (RPLI) and providing more services like bill collection, the sale of forms, etc.

Since India got independence in 1947, the postal service continues to function on a nationwide basis, providing a variety of services. The framework of the organization has the directorate at its top; below it is circle offices, regional offices, the superintendent’s offices, head post offices, sub-post offices, and branch offices. In April 1959, the Indian Postal Department adopted the motto “Service before help”; it revised its logo in September 2008.

Under the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, the Department of Posts comes. The Postal Service Board, the high-level management body of the Department, comprises the Chairman and six Members. The six members of the Board hold portfolios of Personnel, Operations, Technology, Postal Life Insurance, Human Resources Development, Planning respectively. The Joint Secretary and Financial Advisor to the Department is a permanent invitee to the Board. The Board is assisted by a senior staff officer of the Directorate as Secretary to the Board. Deputy Directors General, Directors and Assistant Directors-General provide the necessary functional support for the Board at the Headquarters.

The Postal Index Number (PIN or PIN code) is a six-digit code of post-office numbering given on 15 August 1972. There are nine PIN regions in the country; the first eight are geographical regions, and the ninth is allocated for the Army Postal Service (APS).

The India Posts PIN code system is organized in the following way:

  • The first digit indicates the region.
  • The first two digits indicate the sub-region (or postal circle).
  • The first three digits indicate a sorting district.
  • The last three digits indicate the delivery post office.

The PIN for an address may be found on the Postal Service website. There is a total of 19,101 PIN codes covering 154,725 Post Offices in India, with the exception of the Army Postal Service as of 2014.

Previous What is the Public Provident Fund?
Next What is Section 80(c) of the Income Tax Act?

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *