What is the National Board of Accreditation (NBA)?

What is the National Board of Accreditation (NBA)

The National Board of Accreditation (NBA), India was introduced by AICTE (All India Council of Technical Education) under section 10(u) of AICTE act, in the year 1994, for time to time evaluations of technical institutions & programs basis according to specified norms and standards as recommended by AICTE council.
National Board of Accreditation in its present form came into working as an autonomous body with effect from 7th January 2010, with the focus of Assurance of Quality and Relevance of Education, mainly on the programs in professional and technical disciplines, i.e., Engineering and Technology, Management, Architecture, Pharmacy and Hospitality, through the mechanism of accreditation of programs offered by technical institutions.
NBA has launched a new process, parameters, and norms for accreditation. These are in line with one of the best international practices and oriented to assess the consequences of the programme.

The programmes are accredited by the NBA and not institutes. These cover diplomas, undergraduate and postgraduate programs. Accredited fields cover engineering & technology, management, pharmacy, architecture, applied arts and crafts, computer applications and hospitality and tourism management.

While accreditation is on once choice, in 2017 the AICTE declared that it will not provide approval for institutes which failed to accredit at least half of their programs.

National Board of Accreditation (NBA) has been granted permanent Signatory status of Washington Accord on 13th June 2014. As per the Washington Accord agreement, Recognition of programs by other signatories applies only to programs accredited by NBA that are offered by education providers accepted by NBA as Tier 1 Institutions.

Recognition of graduates of programs accredited by any signatory by registering of licensing bodies in other signatory jurisdictions is liable to the following restriction. The graduate must have completed the programme. After then the date of admission of the accrediting signatory; and during the period of validity of the accreditation (which may have commenced prior to the date of admission. Those Students who only graduated during the validity period of accreditation of a course will be observed to have graduated with an NBA accredited degree.

The following institutions are eligible to apply for Accreditation under Tier I system:

Institutions of National importance:

  • Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), Indian Institute of Science (IISc)
  • Indian Institute of Information Technology Design and Manufacturing (IIITDM)
  •  Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs)
  • Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs)
  • National Institutes of Technology (NITs)
  • Central Universities
  • State Universities(Imparting programs in their campus itself)
  • Private Universities
  • Deemed-to-be Universities
  • Autonomous Institutions
Previous What is the Software Technology Park of India (STPI)?
Next What is Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE)?

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *