What is the National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)?

What is the National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)

National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) is a statutory body of government of India established under the National Council for Teacher Education Act, 1993(#73, 1993) in 1995 is to formally oversee standards, steps, and processes in the Indian education system. The NCTE functions for the central as well as state governments on all matter with regard to the Teacher Education and its secretariat is located in the Department of Teacher Education and National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT). Even after the successful functioning in terms of educational field, it is facing difficulties in certainly the maintenance of the standards of teacher education and preventing the increase in the number of substandard teacher education institutions in the country.

Main objectives:

  • To attain the planned and coordinated development of the teacher education system throughout the country.
  • To ensure proper function and properly maintain the Norms and Standards in the teacher education system and for matters connected therewith.
  • It focused on training individuals for equipping them to teach pre-primary, primary, secondary and senior secondary stages in schools, non-formal and part-time education, adult education (correspondence) and distance education courses

Main functions:

  • To take responsibility surveys and studies pertaining to all aspects of the teacher education and publish the corresponding results.
  • For the making of suitable plans and programmes regarding the field of teacher education, it makes recommendations to the state and central governments, universities, University Grants Commission (UGC), and other recognized institutions.
  • It synchronizes and monitors the teacher education system throughout the country.
  • it lays down the rules for the minimum qualifications need for an individual to be a teacher in schools and recognized institutions.
  • it sets the rules for the provision of physical and infrastructural facilities, staffing pattern etc. for the compliance by recognized institutions.
  • it marked the standards with respect to examinations, the major criteria for such admission as well as schemes for courses or training.
  • it advertises and conducts research and innovation in schools and recognized institutions and then disseminates the results thereof.
  • it tests its own laid-down guidelines, norms, and standards for the improvement.
  • it identifies the recognized institutions and establishes new institutions for the developmental programmes of teacher education system.
  • it takes up important steps for the avoiding of the commercialization of teacher education.
  • it also carries out other function that is entrusted to it by the central government

Main programs:

  • Diploma in each childhood education programme leading to Diploma in Pre-school Education (DPSE).
  • Elementary teacher education programmes foremost to Diploma in Elementary Education (D.EI.ED).
  • Bachelor of elementary education programme foremost to Bachelor of elementary education (B.EI.ED)degree.
  • Bachelor of Education Programme key to a bachelor of education (B.Ed) degree.
  • Master of Education Programme key to Master of Education (M.Ed) degree.
  • Diploma in Physical Education Programmes focused to Diploma in Physical Education (D.P.Ed).
  • Bachelor of Physical Education Programmes foremost to the Bachelor of Physical Education (B.P.Ed) Degree.
  • Master of Physical Education Programmes key to Master of Physical Education (M.P.Ed) Degree.
  • Diploma in elementary education programmes by Open and Distance Learning System key to Diploma in Elementary Education (D.EI.Ed).
  • Bachelor of education programmes with Open and Distance Learning System leading to Bachelor of Education (B.Ed) Degree.
  • Diploma in Arts Education (Visual Arts) programme leading to a Diploma in Arts Education (Visual Arts).
  • Diploma in Arts Education (Performing Arts) programme leading to a Diploma in Arts Education (Performing Arts).
Previous What is National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP)?
Next What is the Rajiv Gandhi National Creche Scheme

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *