Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

ministry of health and family welfare

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare is an Indian government ministry responsible for health policy in India. It is also charged for all government programs relating to family planning in India.

The Minister of Health and Family Welfare holds cabinet rank as a representative of the Council of Ministers. The present minister is Jagat Prakash Nadda. The Ministry regularly issued the Indian Pharmacopoeia since 1955 by Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission (IPC) an autonomous body under the ministry for setting standards for drugs, pharmaceuticals and healthcare devices and technologies in India. The ministry is consist of two departments: Departments of Health and Family Welfare, Department of Health Research.

Department of Health

The Department of Health cover with health care, including awareness campaigns, immunization campaigns, preventive medicine, and public health. Bodies coming under the administrative control of this department are:

National AIDS Control Organisation (NACO) (see HIV/AIDS in India)

13 National Health Programmes

  • National AIDS Control Programme (AIDS) Department Of Aids Control (National AIDS Control Organisation) (Details About Aids)
  • National Cancer Control Programme (cancer) (since 1985)
  • National Filaria Control Programme (filariasis)
  • National Iodine Deficiency Disorders Control Programme (iodine deficiency)
  • National Leprosy Eradication Programme (leprosy)
  • National Mental Health Programme (mental health)
  • National Programme for Control of Blindness (blindness)
  • National Programme for Prevention and Control of Deafness (deafness)
  • National Tobacco Control Programme (tobacco control)
  • National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (NVBDCP) (vector-borne disease)
  • Pilot Programme on Prevention and Control of Diabetes, CVD and Stroke (diabetes, cardiovascular disease, stroke)
  • Revised National TB Control Programme (tuberculosis)
  • Universal Immunisation Programme
  • Medical Council of India
  • Dental Council of India
  • Pharmacy Council of India
  • Indian Nursing Council
  • All India Institute of Speech and Hearing (AIISH), Mysore
  • All India Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AIIPMR), Mumbai
  • All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Kolkata
  • Hospital Services Consultancy Corporation Limited (HSCC)
  • Food Safety and Standards Authority of India
  • Central Drugs Standard Control Organization
  • Department of Family Welfare

The Department of Family Welfare (FW) is undertaken for aspects relating to family welfare, especially in reproductive health, maternal health, pediatrics, information, education and communications; cooperation with NGOs and international aid groups; and rural health services. The Department of Family Welfare is liable for:

  • 18 Population Research Centres (PRC) at six universities and six other institutions across 17 states
  • National Institute of Health and Family Welfare (NIHFW), South Delhi
  • International Institute for Population Sciences (IIPS), Mumbai
  • Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow
  • Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), New Delhi: founded in 1911, it is one of the oldest medical research bodies in the world

Department of AAYUSH

Department of AYUSH is no more under Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, it has elevated as Ministry of AYUSH with effect from 9 November 2014.

The Department of Ayurveda, Yoga, and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and Homoeopathy (AYUSH) deals with Ayurveda (Indian traditional medicine), yoga, naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and homeopathy, and other alternative medicine systems. Now ‘Sowa-Rigpa’ the Tibetan medicine system also has been added in AYUSH.

The department was established in March 1995 as the Department of Indian Systems of Medicines and Homoeopathy (ISM&H). The department is responsible for upholding education standards in the Indian Systems of Medicines and Homoeopathy colleges, strengthening research, promoting the cultivation of medicinal plants used, and working on Pharmacopoeia standards.

Previous Ministry of External Affairs 
Next Ministry of Women and Child Development

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *