J&K govt revokes PSA against 31 politicians - Govt.in - Telling the truth- always!

J&K govt revokes PSA against 31 politicians

SRINAGAR: The J&K administration on Monday revoked the Public Safety Act (PSA) against 31 politicians and activists in Kashmir Valley, keeping in view the coronavirus outbreak.
The demand for their release was growing after J&K recorded two deaths due to Covid-19 and 45 positive cases. Fourteen persons were released in the morning and 17 others later in the day.
The politicians and activists were detained in August last year to avert any law and order situation in the wake of the nullification of Articles 370 and 35A and downgrading of the former J&K state to two UTs of J&K and Ladakh. Three former CMs and other middle-level mainstream politicians were also detained under the PSA.
Over 380 people, however, are still in detention in different jails across J&K. They include J&K Bar Association president Mian Abdul Qayoom and Traders’ Association president Yaseen Khan, among others.
Several political leaders, including former J&K chief minister and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) chief Mehbooba Mufti and National Conference leader Ali Mohammad Sagar are also in detention. Former IAS officer and head of Jammu and Kashmir Peoples’ Movement, Shah Faisal, has also been held under PSA.

  • Source




Log in

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy