Art & Culture Education

What are the Different Scholarship Schemes under ICCR

SK Loans 5:49 AM (1 hour ago) to me What are the Different Scholarship Schemes under ICCR

There are many different schemes available for different countries under ICCR. That are listed below-

ICCR  Scholarship Scheme 
The ICCR offers 100 scholarships (at any given time) for study in Indian classical music, dance, painting, yoga, and sculpture. The scholarships are valid for one year. This Scholarship Scheme is offered to nationals of all countries.

Scholarship Schemes for Bangladesh 
Under this Scholarship Scheme, 200 scholarships are offered to Bangladesh nationals, 100 under the ICCR programme (Bangladesh Scholarship Scheme, UG, PG, Ph.D.including Engineering Courses) as well as 100 under agency work India Scholarship (Bangladesh) Scheme on behalf of the MEA to pursue UG, PG, Ph.D./Post Doctoral (excluding Engineering) Courses

Aid to Bhutan, Mongolia & Maldives 
The Council implements these scheme on behalf of MEA. Under these Scholarship Scheme, 20 slots each are offered to nationals of Bhutan (for UG engineering courses), Mongolia (for UG, PG and PhD courses) and Maldives (for UG courses including engineering), except medicine and dentistry.

SAARC Scholarship Scheme
Under this Scholarship Scheme, 14 scholarships offered annually: Two each to SAARC Member Countries to pursue UG, PG and PhD courses on behalf of SAARC Division of MEA.

Cultural Exchange Programme/Educational Exchange Programme (CEP/EEP) 
Under the Cultural Exchange Programme/Educational Exchange Programme signed between India and other foreign countries, the ICCR offers slots as indicated in the CEP/EEPs slots for pursuing undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral courses. The slots are offered only to those countries where we have valid CEP/EEPs. Terms and conditions are governed by the terms and conditions of the CEP/ EEP.

Scholarships for Sri Lanka 
Under this Scholarship Scheme, 195 scholarships are offered on behalf of ICCR and MEA to Sri Lankan students, under various scholarship schemes: (1) Nehru Memorial Scholarship Scheme (ICCR) 60 Slots, (2) Nehru Memorial Scholarship Scheme (MEA) 60 Slots (only for Undergraduate Courses including Engineering), (3) Maulana Azad Scholarship Scheme (MEA) 50 slots to pursue Master degree in Agriculture Science and Engineering Courses, (4) Rajiv Gandhi Scholarship Scheme (MEA) 25 slots for studies in the field of IT (B.E./B.Tech. Courses).

Silver Jubilee Scholarship Scheme for Nepal 
Scholarship slots under this scheme, as agency work of MEA for Nepal have been increased from 30 to 64 from academic year, 2006-07. This scheme is only for Post Graduate and PhD courses.

Africa Scholarship Scheme 
Under the Africa Scholarship Scheme an agency work on behalf of MEA, a total of 900 slots are offered from 2012-13 onwards to African countries to pursue UG/PG/ PhD Courses.

Mekong-Ganga Cooperation Scholarship Scheme 
ICCR has introduced a scholarship scheme ‘Mekong-Ganga’ as agency work on behalf of MEA. Under this scheme, a total of 50 slots are offered and each member country is allotted 10 slots. The countries covered under this scheme are Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, and Vietnam.

Commonwealth Scholarship Fellowship Plan 
This scholarship is meant for the nationals of the Commonwealth countries. 26 scholarships are awarded annually under the ICCR Programme for postgraduate studies and a few are for Under Graduate and PhD studies.

Ayush Scholarship Scheme 
This scheme is meant for BIMSTEC and Non-BIMSTEC member countries. Under this scheme, 50 scholarships are provided to pursue courses in Indian traditional medical system such as Ayurveda, Unani, Siddha, and Homeopathy. The BIMSTEC countries covered are Thailand, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Bhutan, and Myanmar, and the other countries are covered under the Scheme for non-BIMSTEC. Besides that, 20 slots annually are also offered to Malaysia under this Scheme. This scheme is handled by ICCR as agency work on behalf of ASEAN ML Division, MEA (30 slots) and Ayush Department of the Ministry of Health and Family Planning (40 slots) i.e. 20 for Non-Bimstec countries and 20 for Malaysia.

Special Scholarships for Afghanistan 
Following PM’s visit to Afghanistan in August 2005, 500 scholarships have been awarded under SUSAN (Special Scholarship Scheme for Afghan Nationals to pursue university-level courses in India and now it has been increased to 1000 scholarships annually w.e.f. the academic year 2012-13. It is administered as an Agency work for the MEA.