What is All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)?

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) is the statutory body, under Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development and a national-level council for technical education. Introduced in November 1945 first as an advisory body and later on in 1987 given statutory status by an Act of Parliament, AICTE is having responsibility for proper planning and coordinated development of the technical education and management education system in India. The AICTE gives accreditation to postgraduate and graduate programs under certain categories at Indian institutions as per its charter.

It is helped by 10 Statutory Boards of Studies, namely, UG Studies in Eng. & Tech., PG and Research in Eng. and Tech., Management Studies, Vocational Education, Technical Education, Pharmaceutical Education, Architecture, Hotel Management, and Catering Technology, Information Technology, Town and Country Planning. The AICTE has its new headquarters infrastructure in Delhi on the Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi, 110 067, covering the offices of the chairman, vice-chairman and the member secretary, addition to it has regional offices at Kanpur, Chandigarh, Gurgaon, Mumbai, Bhopal, Baroda, Kolkata, Guwahati, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Chennai and Thiruvananthapuram.

In its 25 April 2013 judgment the Supreme Court conveyed “as per provisions of the AICTE Act and University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, the council has no power which empowers it to issue or enforce any sanctions on colleges affiliated with the universities as its role is to provide guidance and recommendations. As a result, AICTE was getting approval from the Supreme court to regulate technical colleges on a year to year basis till January 2016, when AICTE got blanket approval for publishing the Approval Process Handbook and approve technical colleges also covering the management for the session 2016-17 and in all future sessions.”

AICTE Mission:

  • A true objective regulator  and facilitator
  • Crystal clear governance and accountable approach towards the society;
  • Planned and coordinated development of Technical Education in the country by ensuring world-class standards of institutions by accreditation;
  • Focus on developing high-quality institutions, academic excellence, and innovative research and development programmes;
  • Networking with/ or a network of institutions for optimum resource utilization;
  • Dispersal of knowledge
  • Technology forecasting and global manpower execution and planning;
  • Advertising industry-institution interaction for developing new products, services, and patents;
  • Introducing entrepreneurship;
  • Promoting indigenous technology;
  • Aiming at non-formal education;
  • Encouraging affordable education for all;
  • Taking steps towards Technical Education in India globally acceptable;

The AICTE comprises following bureaus, commonly known as:

  • e-Governance (e-Gov) Bureau
  • Approval (AB) Bureau
  • Planning and Co-ordination (PC) Bureau and Academic (Acad) Bureau
  • University (UB) Bureau
  • Administration (Admin) Bureau
  • Finance (Fin) Bureau
  • Research, Institutional and Faculty Development (RIFD) Bureau

Other than these 10 Board of Studies dealing with a technician, vocational, undergraduate engineering, postgraduate engineering and research, architecture, town and country planning, pharmacy, management, applied arts and crafts, hotel management and catering technology education.

For every bureau, the adviser is the bureau head who is provided help by technical officers and other supporting staff. The multidiscipline technical officer and staff of the Council are on deputation or on contract from government departments, University Grants Commission, academic institutions, etc.


thunderstorm with light rain
humidity: 88%
wind: 2m/s W
H 24 • L 23
Weather from OpenWeatherMap