Finance Social Empowerment

What is Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram?

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram

The Scheme

For the renaming and restructuring of Multi-sectoral Development Programme, The cabinet committee on economic affairs has introduced a programme called Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK). The restructured scheme is to be implemented during the remaining period of the 14th Finance Commission ie. March 31, 2020. The MCDs were identified on the basis of census 2001 data. The programme continued during the 11th Five Year Plan. In addition to gap filling projects, MsDP also provides for taking up innovative projects which are not covered by any of the existing CSS of various ministries and these are funded in the ratio of 60:40 and for NE and Hilly States at 90:10 between the Centre and States. This includes Sadbhav Mandap, Market shed etc. This initiative will be a joint effort of the Centre and the States/UTs for inclusive growth accelerate the development process and improve the quality of life of the people. 2 The scheme aims at focused development programmes for backward minority concentration areas to help reduce imbalances and speed up development.

Who can avail of this scheme

In the identified minority concentration areas this  Programme aims to address development. The inclusion of Minority Concentration District Headquarters along with the Minority Concentration Towns having a population more than 25,000, Minority Concentration Blocks and Cluster of Villages as per Census, 2011 data, will extend the coverage of population of minority communities.

The plan under this programme would be prepared at the level of Blocks/Towns/Clusters identified. For the Blocks identified as MCBs, the Block Level Committee constituted for MsDP (details in Para 8) will prepare the plan and send it to the District level Committee for Prime Minister‟s New 15 Point Programme. In case of towns/cities, the plan will be prepared by the local body of the urban area identified for the implementation of this programme and submitted to the District Level Committee. Block Level Committee will also be constituted for those blocks whose cluster of minority concentration villages have been approved by the EC. The plan for such cluster will be prepared by the Block level Committee and sent to District Level Committee.

As far as PMJVK is concerned, the communities notified as minority communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 Page 3 of 65 would be taken as Minority Communities. At present 6 (six) communities namely Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains have been notified as Minority Communities under Section 2 (c) of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992. 3.2 As per the Census 2011, the percentage of minorities in the country is about 19.3% of the total population of the country. The population of Muslims are 14.2%; Christians 2.3%; Sikhs 1.7%, Buddhists 0.7%, Jain 0.4% and Parsis 0.006%.


thunderstorm with light rain
humidity: 88%
wind: 2m/s W
H 24 • L 23
Weather from OpenWeatherMap