Economist Surjit Bhalla Quits From PM’s Economic Advisory Council

Eminent economist and columnist Surjit Bhalla Tuesday stated he has resigned as a part-time member of Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (EAC-PM) on December 1. “I resigned as a part-time member of PMEAC on December 1,” Bhalla said in a tweet.

A Prime Minister’s Office spokesman commented that Bhalla’s resignation has been accepted by the Prime Minister.

“In his request, he had said that he would be joining some other organization,” the spokesman said.

EAC-PM is an independent body constituted to give advice on economic and related matters to the Government of India, specifically to the Prime Minister.

The six-member Council consists of eminent economists: Bibek Debroy (Chairman), Shri Ratan P Watal (member secretary), Rathin Roy (part-time member), Ashima Goyal (part-time member), and Shamika Ravi (part-time member).

Previous "RBI Not Dependent On One Individual": NITI Aayog On Urjit Patel Exit
Next We Ditched Development For Ram Temple, Now Paying Price In Polls