Shivraj Singh Chauhan


Shivraj Singh Chouhan was born on 5 March 1959, is the 17th and current Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, a central Indian state. He succeeded Babulal Gaur as chief minister on 29 November 2005. As a leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, he has worked as its general secretary and as president of its Madhya Pradesh state unit. He came in Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1972, as a 13-year-old. He has been a five-time Member of Parliament, as a member Vidisha in the Lok Sabha since 1991. At current, he represents Budhni constituency, a tehsil place in Sehore district, in the Madhya Pradesh assembly.

Early life and family

Shivraj Singh Chouhan was in Jait village, Sehore in Madhya Pradesh. Chouhan is the son of Prem Singh Chouhan and Sundar Bai Chouhan. He completed his Masters in Philosophy from Barkatullah University, Bhopal. Chouhan married Sadhana Singh in 1992. The couple has two sons. Chauhan was an agriculturist before entering politics.

Political career

Shivraj early political career can be defined as up to the point of his first election to the Lok Sabha. He was chosen as the President of the Model School Students Union in 1975. In 1976-77, he participated in the underground movement against Emergency and was imprisoned in Bhopal Jail for some time. In his early political career, he has also been: A convener of Akhil Bhartiya Keshariya Vahini in 1991-92 A Member of Committee on Labour and Welfare from 1993 to 1996. A Member of Hindi Salahkar Samiti from 1994 to 2000.

Shivraj was first elected to the State Assembly from Budhni Constituency in 1990. He was chosen a Member of Parliament for the first time in his career in 10th Lok Sabha from Vidisha Constituency in the following year.

In 1996, Shivraj was re-elected to the 11th Lok Sabha (his second term). Shivraj was Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development and Member of Consultative Committee, Ministry of Human Resources Development and Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development from 1996 to 1997 and Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development, General Secretary of BJP, Madhya Pradesh in 1997-98.

Again in 1998, Shivraj was re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (third term). He was Member of Committee on Urban and Rural Development and its Sub-Committee on Ministry of Rural Areas and Employment in 1998-99.

His fourth term in the Lok Sabha (13th Lok Sabha) was from 1999. Shivraj was a member of Committee on Agriculture in 1999-2000, member of Committee on Public Undertakings from 1999 to 2001, and National President of Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha from 2000 to 2003. He was also the representative Chairman of House Committee (Lok Sabha) and National Secretary of Bhartiya Janta Party.

The BJP swept Madhya Pradesh in the Assembly elections of December 2003. At that time, he contested polls unsuccessfully against the incumbent Chief Minister Digvijaya Singh from Raghogarh.

Shivraj was a member of Consultative Committee, a ministry of Communications from 2000 to 2004. He was re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha (5th term) in 2004, with a margin of over 260,000 votes. He was representative of Committee on Agriculture, member of Joint Committee on Offices of Profit, National General Secretary of BJP, Secretary of Parliamentary Board, and Secretary (Central Election Committee). He also headed Housing Committee of Lok Sabha and member of Committee on Ethics.

Previous Ravi Shankar Prasad
Next Subhash Chandra Bose

No Comment

Click on a tab to select how you'd like to leave your comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *